Arthritis friendly Hobby Horse Mane and more

Determined not to let Arthritis stop her from making Hobby Horses for her Grandchildren Maker Therese has kindly given permission for her methods to be shared on my Just Bananas Over Soft Toys Blog! Having experienced the inconvenience of stiff fingers and Arthritis in my own hands I appreciate the effort Therese has put into taking the following photos. Those with less nibble fingers may find it helpful to use the tutorial in conjunction with the “Wish for a Pony” Sewing Pattern PDF available on Etsy.

Maker Therese writes “Some may prefer this method, others may not.  I’ve learned a great deal of my crafts and hobbies from others who shared with me.  I’m just passing on the tradition. If this helps others to sew this wonderful hobby horse and get more of what is beautiful and creative into the world, I’m all for it… I’ve worked out another time saver for myself that you may like. I have 19 grand-children so far, with the oldest being 15 years old.  You can see why I will be making many of these, and why I’m trying to make it easier on my hands…..I think the beauty of your pattern is that it allows for everyone’s individual creativity.  I think the most serious problem that I will have, is to stop sewing them.  I love all the possible colors, the variety of yarns, and the sheer joy on a child’s face when I give it to them.”

The following photos show how Therese makes the manes for her Hobby Horses.

 

Arthritis friendly Hobby Horse Mane and more

Making use of Drawer Handles

 

Arthritis friendly Hobby Horse Mane and more

Making use of Hair Clips

 

Maker Therese recommends the use of Interfacing as well as Stay Stitching to make sewing easier for stiff fingers! She writes: “When I do the stay stitching, I remain within the stitch line.  Also, I think interfacing the fabric is pretty important for me to maintain the integrity of the fabric.”

 

Arthritis friendly Hobby Horse Mane and more

Stay Stitching is added to the tight corner

 

Arthritis friendly Hobby Horse Mane and more

Stay Stitching is added to the Muzzle

 

Arthritis friendly Hobby Horse Mane and more

Some excellent Do and Do Not Advice

 

Arthritis friendly Hobby Horse Mane and more

Clip carefully to avoid cutting the Stitching

 

Maker Therese has yet to discover an easier method for stuffing her Hobby Horses and describes her difficulty this way: “The stuffing is still a bit daunting, but I used a larger sized dowel (I broke my first one) and it helps me.  So much of this masterpiece depends on properly stuffing so that all of your excellent detail work comes through.”

This Hobby Horse Tutorial How to Stuff a Hobby Horse Video has been created to help those who are like Therese and find the Stuffing process a little tricky! Don’t forget ‘practice makes perfect’….if it doesn’t look right pull some of the stuffing out and try again!

Therese has done a wonderful job with her Hobby Horses as these photos show!!

 

Arthritis friendly Hobby Horse Mane and more

Palomino with Bells on Bridle

 

Arthritis friendly Hobby Horse Mane and more

Closeup of Palomino

 

Notice the alternative method Therese has used instead of Faux Fur eyes! You can read more about here

 

Arthritis friendly Hobby Horse Mane and more

Nose Band & Bells added to Bridle

“I like the little kiddos to have bells when they prance about.” Therese told me in an email!

I can just imagine the prancing and Bells tinkling!

“…..this is a great fun project and my children all want one or more for their children. That should keep me busy for some time…….Thanks again for making it possible to send a bit of sunshine to some very dear grandchildren.” 

Awhhh isn’t that lovely!

A Huge Thanks a Bunch goes to Therese for these very helpful tips and photos!

Save

Save

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “Arthritis friendly Hobby Horse Mane and more

Leave a Reply

