To Blog or not to Blog that is the Question!

I guess that was my first ‘ooopsy’ out of the way…..I wrote my text all nice and neat…. just the way I wanted it….but now it was gone! Let’s see if I can remember what I wrote!

I was saying that I am new to writing a Blog and now it should be even more obvious that I am..oh well.

I joined some sewing related “Groups” on Facebook a while ago and I have been learning lots of new skills. One group in particular is very helpful it is called “While she naps softie designer forum”. It seems that it is better to write a Blog than to rely on the ‘Mathematical Equations’ that Facebook uses to ‘show’ your Posts to a limited amount of people. On Facebook you have to ‘earn’ the right to have people see what you have to say. With a Blog it is up to me to make what I say interesting enough for people to want to read and ‘follow’ what I say. Only time will tell….

BTW thanks Abby and everyone else from the designer forum who have been encouraging and supporting me. Not that anyone knows I have a Blog at this stage but you ‘gotta’ start somewhere right?

One Banana at a time!!… BTW did I mention that I am “Just Bananas Over Soft Toys”…??? Well I have now! Anyone else Just Bananas Over Soft Toys? I hope so or I could just end up talking to myself …wouldn’t be the first time though… lol, story of my life..but that is about to change! Just wait & see…thanks a “Bunch” for ‘listening’.

10 thoughts on “To Blog or not to Blog that is the Question!

    • Hi Victoria thanks for the welcome! I’ll ask you what I asked Mignon which is regarding what you know about Option for: the “Appearance” > “Background”….it says I can change to a different Background colour or Upload an image….but I don’t know if I am game to do that because it says if I do I will not be able to restore any ‘customization’ (?) stuff I have already done…have I done any of that yet?? Other than change the text under my Page name which did say “This WordPress site is the bees knees” to my just Bananas advice. Is it possible to have the same image as I have on my FB page with a continuing blue background?…. Or is that in the realm of “You have to PAY $ for the ability”? What do you think…what did you do?

  1. Yay! Congratulations on taking the plug Janette. I’ve been doing this a little while & although I’m still learning how to work ‘wordpress’ I’m happy to share any tips & info I have learnt so far with you.
    Looking forward to your next post … 😀

    • I’d like to talk more about what you know about options like the “Appearance” > “Background”….it says I can change to a different Background colour or Upload an image….but I don’t know if I am game to do that because it says if I do I will not be able to restore any ‘customization’ (?) stuff I have already done…have I done any of that yet?? Other than change the text under my Page name which did say “This WordPress site is the bees knees” to my just Bananas advice…I know I can’t
      “break anything” they say so & so does Victoria Peat who has a WordPress site too… What do you think…what did you do?

      • Most areas offer a ‘preview’ option so you can check how something looks before you change it. The theme I picked was pretty simple as I knew I wanted to add my own ‘header’. I have change the background colour once or twice, it’s been a while, but for memory it’s quite simple.
        My site is a free wordpress site, but Lindsay has a paid one (Tim also had a paid one up until last week), you seem to get less options with the paid sites, for example on my post I can break up sections of writing into ‘headings’ which I can centre, change the font size & colour, but I can’t do any of that with Lindsays.
        Probably the easiest thing would be to email me if you what to do something specific on your site & I can have a look on mine & try & walk you through it a bit like I did the the signature thing on Yahoo.
        Mignon 🙂

  2. It just takes time to figure it all out. We found with our Hermity Farmer Women blog and facebook page that the majority of people responded through facebook not the blog. I am an admin on the Free PDF patterns facebook page, and that has been a fun resource. Good luck with everything!

Leave a Reply

